Day Of Rest

In light of it being my last day off until next week Friday, I was reflecting on my two months unemployment where I really didn’t do a whole ton other than sit around my house and apply for jobs. Actually, my time of sitting around not doing a whole lot started back in June when I finished school. All I had from the time I finished class to the end of July was working part time on campus. Anyway, my point is that from that time until I started my job now, I was in a period of rest. I’ve heard it also called a “forced sabbath.” Either way, that’s basically what it was. Last school year, I was super busy with classes and work and kind of wandered away from true church community. I only kept going to weekend services and connection group because my two dear friends would pick me up. Anywho, my summer consisted of a lot of sleeping that was very much needed. Sometimes I felt really guilty for how much I would sleep in a night (I would go to bed at 8pm in the middle of July, it’s still light out then!) but I could not stay awake any later than that. After all that, and after being unemployed in Iowa City for two months, I see that God wanted me to have that time to rest and God showed me how awesome community really is. I desire real community, but that’s hard to get into when I run away from any sort of community that is sitting right in front of me. God is good and He does provide all of our needs, it’s just that sometimes I seem to ignore what He has given me. Today, I spent my day sitting around in my pajamas reading. It was wonderful, and so good to just spend the day resting. šŸ™‚

This is turning into random rambling that doesn’t make any sense, but I also realized the other day that sometimes I don’t publish blog posts that I write because they aren’t very good writing. Sometimes though, I need to just stop being so much of a perfectionist and just write.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment