One Week!

I’m less than a week from my due date now. Of course, due dates mean just about nothing, and do nothing other than drive myself and my relatives all crazy. Babies don’t read calenders. But as the due date gets closer, I realize one fact: I will have a baby sometime this month. And then I’ll be a mom.

False labor contractions are driving me insane, mostly as they get stronger, or more frequent in some cases, I keep thinking, “is this it?” And then they stop and I realize that it’s probably nothing other than the uterus (which is a muscle) flexing and getting ready (to which I’m relieved). It really could be another couple weeks. And in some ways, I’m quite okay with waiting another couple weeks, and then sometimes I just think, “okay, I’m ready to be done with this.” I think I’m okay with waiting only because I know that God will allow the baby to be ready to come out whenever it’s ready to come out.

I’m also quite tired of comments from people (mostly strangers at stores or restaurants) of things like, “Wow, you’re really big!” or “You’re really pregnant!” or “You look like you’re ready to pop!” These are not helpful comments, and definitely don’t make me feel good about myself. Also, all three of those comments are quite obvious to you, and me, they don’t need to be mentioned. Another comment I get a lot is, “You don’t even look pregnant except from the front”–this one really gets me, first of all, I’ve never weighed this much in my life, so yes, I do look pregnant all over, it’s just been too long since you saw me pre-pregnancy size to remember, and second of all, telling a very pregnant person that they don’t look big is a bit discouraging when the pregnant woman feels like a hippo and can’t put on her own socks. Moral of the story; never, ever, no matter the circumstance or supposed closeness to the person comment on the size of a pregnant woman at any stage of pregnancy. Okay, I’ll get off my soap box now.

By the way, why do they call them soap boxes?

This entry was posted in postaweek2013 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

